10.25.16 // #26 – you are not living. you are machinery.

tell me how living feels
when you fake your smiles
in interviews and applications
to feel the wheels digging into your skin, the rusty machine

tell me how living feels
when you write activity after activity
to prove your worth to a society
that throws you the bones
of the ones they’ve destroyed
and expects you to feel fed

tell me how living feels
when you say it’s not enough
to dig your own paper-made grave
when you say you must do more, be more, for them

tell me how living feels
when i ask
“what do you like about it?”
and my permanent frown curves to see your false smile slip
then:
“it’s not about liking it”

tell me how living feels when you worry your head
off over expectations
and turn your back on the real world

tell me how living feels
when you find yourself
in classes you hate
in a job you only want for the money
in a permanent fake smile

Leave a Reply

